Which bike is best for 100km/day, safety, reliability and fuel economy?

Hi bikers, my job requires me to travel average 100km/day.

I am looking for a bike that is;

Safe (reasonable power and control)

Reliable (starts everytime, don't break down easily)

Fuel economy (more than 25km/litre)

Low maintenance

Currently looking at;

Wave-i (brilliant, but heard that it is not too "safe" on expressways)

Super 4 (FC is 20km/litre?)

Fazer (FC is 20km/litre?)

Scooters, GT200, X9, Joyride (not as much control as bikes, and gotta service every 3000km, that mean every month for me)

What is your opinion?

Are there any models you can recommend?

Any advice will be appreciated :thumb:

• Replies 37

Low maintenance

with the 2 points above, i think you can forget about Class 2 bikes already.

can consider CBR150, Phantom 200, Puslar if you want good FC and low maintenance.

if class 2A, go for super4 lor.

with the 2 points above, i think you can forget about Class 2 bikes already.

can consider CBR150, Phantom 200, Puslar if you want good FC and low maintenance.

if class 2A, go for super4 lor.

Not true. Some class 2 bikes can do 25km/l. If I do mainly highway riding, my 1200cc Sportster can already do 22km/l. European makes, due to the current environmental regulation, would fair even better. The current BMW F800ST can do at least 25km/l and maybe more if not ridden hard. That's for a bike that delivers more than 80 hp.

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

Hi bikers, my job requires me to travel average 100km/day.

I am looking for a bike that is;

Safe (reasonable power and control)

Reliable (starts everytime, don't break down easily)

Low maintenance

Currently looking at;

Wave-i (brilliant, but heard that it is not too "safe" on expressways)

Super 4 (FC is 20km/litre?)

Fazer (FC is 20km/litre?)

Scooters, GT200, X9, Joyride (not as much control as bikes, and gotta service every 3000km, that mean every month for me)

What is your opinion?

Are there any models you can recommend?

Any advice will be appreciated :thumb:

just for work? theres a rental scheme that Ban Hock Hin has. They allow you to opt for several work horse bikes.

80 bucks per month gets you a craptastic 150cc two stroke scooter that has drum brakes for front and rear wheels. wobbles at high speeds especially when you have a loaded pack behind you. you might get a vespa. or you might get a vespa clone, a star alliance. not my favourite. :/ you might want to top up more for a decent work bike.

130 bucks, if i remember right, gets you a Yamaha YBX. kick start only, 4 stroke 125cc bike. no fuel indicator. but good millage never the less. its old but reliable.

160 bucks, if i remember right, gets you a yamaha RXZ. need i explain? im sure everyone and their mothers know whats the "Ali Jack" all about. :/

180 bucks, if i remember right, gets you a yamaha YBR. see the ybx, with cosmetic upgrades like fuel indicator and electric start. keep your cash and just rent the ybx. they are both more or less the same thing. bomb proof machines. and besides... at 180 per month you can pay installment for a bigger bike. :/

ps... Wave-i? the fuel injection wave? theres a reason why the S and R versions are more common on the roads. ;)

if you are serious about your work you will want to consider the 4 stroke naked bikes in the market. bikes like the...

Honda CB125

Yamaha YBR125 (i swear its bomb proof. doesnt have much power tho...)

Bajaj Pulsar 180 (funny bike, this. im using it myself. :) )

etc etc.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

great comments guys.

i should look into class 2b street bikes, like bajaj, cb, and ybr. but like spai said, looks a bit funny. we gotta look at our bikes everyday.... i m very shallow one... but still, its the most practical choice.:thumb:

super 4 and bmw are really tempting. i gotta do some maths and see if i want to pay 300-400/month for fuel. i am very stingy too. i like the yearly depreciation to be less than 1k. assuming a 10 yr life span for bikes, that means bmw could be outta my reach.

i am afraid rental bikes might not be in the best condition. better to buy one and look after it well. at least i know it works.

buying bike gotta think of so many things. some more gotta satisfy my pocket and ego. now i think there really isn't such a thing as good, cheap, safe and good looking bike. guess i'll go for good and safe first.

for riders who tried 2b street bikes(bajaj, cb, ybr) and kups (spark, wave). is there any significant difference in their handling? looks abt same size to me

nothing can beat bajaj pulsar 40-50km/litre....

Always Look Ahead and Ride

01/07-05/08 bajaj pulsar ug3FBB1977R

01/08-05/08 Aprilia RS 125 FBB436C

05/08-01/10 Suzuki GSR 400 FBC6602J

07/08-03/09 Yamaha R125 FBD766R

01/10-???? Mazda 3 Luxury SJV4**0B

pulsar actually looks fine... just the headlight... can change? dun like the cowling.

u can tell me off for being vain

anyway, i am looking at coule of pulsars now

x1-R!!!!!!!!!!

Yamaha Rxz (sept-dec 2007)

Yamaha X1-R(dec 07-nov 09 )

YAmaha RXZ(Nov 09-dec11)

Honda Super 4(dec 11-June12)

Yamaha FZ15(June12- current)

Not true. Some class 2 bikes can do 25km/l. If I do mainly highway riding, my 1200cc Sportster can already do 22km/l. European makes, due to the current environmental regulation, would fair even better. The current BMW F800ST can do at least 25km/l and maybe more if not ridden hard. That's for a bike that delivers more than 80 hp.

that's because you do mainly highway riding.

the bikes i mentioned, can hit easily 30-40km/hr even with some hard riding and urban traffic.

once my neighbour riding african twin told me he can hit over 20km/l. when i ask his riding speed, it's 80km/hr max most of the time.

he said it will be much worst if he go 100-120km/hr. (that is my usual speed in SG)

sorry but i don't believe in not riding hard, a bike should be rode the way it should be.

there are people who get a big bike, but ride like a p***y, because they are worried about fuel consumption.

when i drive or ride, i never bother how much petrol is burnt/used, just drive/ride the way it should be and enjoy it.

what about maintenance ?

a small bike only need 1/2 spark plug and 1litre of engine oil. parts are dirt-cheap too.

i wouldn't ride a class 2 bike if i am the threadstarter who travel 100km/day.

he will need to service the bike like every 2 months?

bike i want... want to have a sportsbike again, and hit the corners like there is no tomorrow.

but reality bites, and gotta be responsible...

bikes i am looking at today;

bajaj

spark

super4 spec II

i think the main concern is the safe issue. No point save all the money if life is at stake. Better to get class 2A/ 2 instead. I see lot of ill mannered drivers out there on the streets. i know how powerless i'm when during my kup kias daes. Better to be safe than sorry.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

dzm400s is motard? always thought its expensive to buy, maintain, and refill. if the fc is so gd, will check it out at the shops later. thanks!

299 has a good reminder. i am riding on expressways mostly. no point saving $$$ if i am not going to reach my destination at all... scary sobering thought.....

that narrows down to street bikes, 125 to 400cc. 400 if purse allows.

gotta do more research on motards. firstly, my feet gotta touch the ground

Get a cb400 version s.. some people are getting 24-26km/L on version s.. power is there when u need it and most shops can do super4's..

really meh tot s4 average is 18 to 20km /L:cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment
really meh tot s4 average is 18 to 20km /L:cheeky:

version s and PB1 dont have that "VTEC" to suck up petrol. top end speed would be less, though.

since you are afraid of price depreciation than i guess that would put the pulsar out. dropped almost a grand in 9 months. not that i care, actually, since im not selling my bike anytime soon. got a GSX400R for me to play with, to get my testosterone running.

naked bikes are the easiest bikes to pick up. why do i say that? BBDC uses a Honda CB125 as a trainer bike. CDC uses a Yamaha YBR125. Both are naked bikes. Both used like mad in the circuit. Both pretty badly mashed up after countless times grinding wet tarmac at the E-Brake section, among others. Both still running strong.

change the head cowling of the pulsar? there are three types of the pulsar available right now. first two has analogue display. newest one has a digital display. the first two analogue display version you can happily put in an rxz cowling instead. you may want to, since its cheaper, plus replacement bulbs are easier to source than the really wierd indian bulbs. whos ever heard of HS-1? you can pop in H4 bulbs in no problem though. i dont want to fry my systems, so i'd leave it to the curious.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

yea get either a super 4 . or phamton 200. phamton can do 30++ km/l . and its good too.

get those rxz or wave or s4

rxz pickup good, light weight, petrol not bad, good handling for street use

wave, light, good for st use and petrol saving

s4 no 2t, got power, st bike ;)

the rest either no power or not worth your time to consider it as a ride.

CBR 150, problem free 4 stroke 'sports' bike. My previous CBR gave me 50km/l, engine oil every 3000km and spark plug 5000km. Dirt cheap and reliable. Can go 110km/h easily. Only thing some ppl say the bike is a bit too small and skinny, but i still love the CBR150.

HI there,...

Interesting scenario u have there soul2rest, very similar to my situtation for e past 2 years. Due to work, i'd have to travel about the same mileage as you, At first, i was riding a super4 PB1, it did the job just fine, FC is ok, power is good enough for getting out of troublesome situations but COE was ending and i was also getting bored of it so it was sold.

Then i shopped around and got a CBR150 with side boxes n 42L top box as i needed to carry quite a bit of stuff daily. Its a good bike with excellent FC that just manages to do its job. But its really uncomfortable and weak esp with pillion, eventually rather tiring to ride, prob dangerous too as this bike's so small and invisible.

So........ traded it in for a NX650 dominator, enough power, enough space to sit and store, not tt bad FC (20+ km/L) and lots of useful torque for overtaking and pick-up. the added height and visibilty of a dual/sport bike is nice too. Reliability... well, its a honda XR650 based engine, cant really go wrong. Seems like i've found my ultimate urban assault vehicle haha. Then my boss got a company car for me....dishh. So after just 3 months or so, the dominator is now a weekend bike. sigghss..

ok then, just sharing my experiences wif ya. hope this helps. happy bike searching!!!

Gary

2000 RD125LC TZR125, 2002 RD125LC, 2003 RXK, 2004 XLR185, 2005 CB400PB1 UC150 Epicuro, 2007 CBR150, 2008 NX650 CB750F2

2010 TA200 XR200R, 2011 DR650

hmm.. what is c2 naked bikes fc compared to s4? about the same? assuming same riding pattern.. probably 100kmph on expressways..

what type of naked bikes are you comparing to?

anyway on my '05 r6, i was getting around 15-16km/l riding in SG only.

if you are going to talk about 1000cc or above, i believe more or less there or even lower.

of coz got some c2 bikes which are quite fuel frugal, i believe DR650 is one of them. vstrom 650 i heard not bad too.