What's the difference in buying a first hand bike from Distributor Vs Authorised Dealer?

e.g. what's the difference in buying a brand new CBR600 from Boon Siew as compared to buying from MAH motor??

Price difference?.... Servicing?

• Replies 25

Guest Quincy

No difference as both carries Boon Siew warranty. But you need to know that the bike you're getting is under Boon Siew warranty which equal to Honda or MAH warranty.

Distributor is known for higher price as the parts they are using is genuinely Honda... So you need to ask before agreeing to anything...

maybe boon siew can bring down the price?

cos the are the main dealer

If I am going to roll out a new 20k bike, i would choose to do it from boon siew directly. For the slightly higher price i am paying, I have the assurance that there is no hanky panky business going on. Plus, if you are thinking of buying through installments, they do not charge early settlement fee in the event you want to clear your debts with them.

Also, I once saw boon siew staff unloading a new s4(still in crate) from the lorry, and unpacking the crate. They were very careful in dealing with the S4.

Well I see the showroom everyday as I work nearby. Whole day kena poison. Haha.

It depends.

Authorized dealer, you can verify the bike's serial number with the agent before agreeing to a purchase.

I got mine from a bikeshop. But the bike warranty is covered by Guan Hoe.

Had the brake light plastic melted a bit due to overheated exhaust fumes.

Free replacement with no questions asked by GH.

maybe boon siew can bring down the price?

cos the are the main dealer

it makes no sense for the distributor to bring down their price. they have to set a higher price to 'deter' consumers from getting from them direct.

if they do lower their prices to be so-what similar to dealer's price, how are their dealers going to earn from selling honda bikes?

it makes no sense for the distributor to bring down their price. they have to set a higher price to 'deter' consumers from getting from them direct.

if they do lower their prices to be so-what similar to dealer's price, how are their dealers going to earn from selling honda bikes?

Correct.

This is a common arrangement between resellers and distributors.

In return, resellers dun sell way too cheap. Keeping to the MSRP....

Correct.

sorry.... but what is MSRP?

Correct.

but it seems to me that most bikers don't think it this way. they think that distributors should sell it cheaper.. :sian:

sorry.... but what is MSRP?

market suggested retail price. or RRP, recommended retail price.

but it seems to me that most bikers don't think it this way. they think that distributors should sell it cheaper.. :sian:

This is because those bikers are not familiar with the industry.

get from bikeshop pay more if u requested them 2 get from agent ur price still cheaper than agent but expensive than PI warrently still cover under agent so got 2 place either 2 claim if anything happen during warrently

Do and die, don't ask why , and u will SURVIVE!

Distributor's price is definitely cheaper that Agent. The Agents in singapore is only playing the role of supplying spares parts and workshop repairs. They are not into selling bikes because our market is so small and there are so many models so they are not prepare to take any risks. For that reason they only sell established models and their pricing will be more expensive. Newbies who want a peace of mind will patronise them.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Distributor's price is definitely cheaper that Authorised dealer. The dealers in singapore is only playing the role of supplying spares parts and workshop repairs. They are not into selling bikes because our market is so small and there are so many models so they are not prepare to take any risks. For that reason they only sell established models and their pricing will be more expensive. Newbies who want a peace of mind will patronise them.

apparently you are mistaken. distributor's price is always higher than dealer's. for example, a honda xr125. boon siew will most probably retail it @ 7k machine price, where else asphoon will retail it @ 6.5k machine price.

the 6.5k mark that asphoon is selling is already earning profits from the sale. however so, IF boon siew were to retail the bike at a price, for example 6.2k, it's lower than asphoon. but who will buy from asphoon in that case? asphoon is an authorised dealer for honda/boon siew. if they are not able to earn profits from selling honda bikes, they don't have a reason to continue to be a honda dealer.

that's the exact reason why distributor's price is always higher than dealers.

Not mistaken we are talking abt the same thing only different interpretation ...eeh what i meant was Dealer= Boon Siew ,Guan Hoe ,Hong Leong Distributor= all the shops who get the bikes from them

anyway, i miss wildcard.

Not mistaken we are talking abt the same thing only different interpretation ...eeh what i meant was Dealer= Boon Siew ,Guan Hoe ,Hong Leong Distributor= all the shops who get the bikes from them

I would think the correct term is :

Agent : Tied to manufacturere and bring in bikes officially with manufacturer warranty

Authorized distributor : Tied to Agent and sells the bike on behalf of Agent with manufacturer warranty tied to Agent

I would think the correct term is :

Agent : Tied to manufacturere and bring in bikes officially with manufacturer warranty

Authorized distributor : Tied to Agent and sells the bike on behalf of Agent with manufacturer warranty tied to Agent

:thumb: you are right Snr Mod!!! wasn't thinking hard enough and i amended the post haha.. Btw regarding bikeasia there are still ppl interested in getting e tickets, i will ask them on monday and let you know.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

In a typical market channel, these are the main members : principal, agent, distributor, dealers, end-users.

To put in a local context :

Principal - Factory, eg, Honda Factory in Japan

Agent - Someone who is contractually appointed by the Principal to act in a given territory. Eg Boon Siew, agent for Honda in Singapore, and Malaysia, in which they are commonly known as local agent.

Distributor - Someone who has been given the rights by the Principal or Agent to distribute the product in a given territory. As Singapore is a small country, so Boon Siew is the Agent as well as the Distributor for Honda in Singapore and Malaysia

Dealers - Someone who is given the right by the distributor to sell a product. eg Cut-throat motordiam Pte Ltd

End Users - Everyday suckers like you and me having to put the the craps from the agent, distributors, dealers, :angel:

Rightfully, the distributor should not sell directly to end-users so as not to compete with its appointed dealers since it (the distributor) has price advantage. They should direct any sales to their dealers.

As long as the bike is bought through this channel, it will be entitled to full factory warranty through the local agent. For such claims, the local agent will be reimbursed by the Principal.

However if you had bought a Honda bike from outside of this channel, such as parallel import or grey market, then it is none of the business of the local agent or distributor.

What's the difference in buying a first hand bike from Distributor Vs Authorised Dealer?

e.g. what's the difference in buying a brand new CBR600 from Boon Siew as compared to buying from MAH motor??

Price difference?.... Servicing?

U need check too not all their HONDA is from boon siew.

My Honda 125 bought at Mah is parallel import.And Boon siew had the same Honda 125 model .But distributor price higher than mah.

In a typical market channel, these are the main members : principal, agent, distributor, dealers, end-users.

To put in a local context :

Principal - Factory, eg, Honda Factory in Japan

Agent - Someone who is contractually appointed by the Principal to act in a given territory. Eg Boon Siew, agent for Honda in Singapore, and Malaysia, in which they are commonly known as local agent.

Distributor - Someone who has been given the rights by the Principal or Agent to distribute the product in a given territory. As Singapore is a small country, so Boon Siew is the Agent as well as the Distributor for Honda in Singapore and Malaysia

Dealers - Someone who is given the right by the distributor to sell a product. eg Cut-throat motordiam Pte Ltd

End Users - Everyday suckers like you and me having to put the the craps from the agent, distributors, dealers, :angel:

Rightfully, the distributor should not sell directly to end-users so as not to compete with its appointed dealers since it (the distributor) has price advantage. They should direct any sales to their dealers.

As long as the bike is bought through this channel, it will be entitled to full factory warranty through the local agent. For such claims, the local agent will be reimbursed by the Principal.

However if you had bought a Honda bike from outside of this channel, such as parallel import or grey market, then it is none of the business of the local agent or distributor.

a summary well done! :thumb:

Mah Ptd Ltd imports bikes for BoonSiew.

yes?

boon siew is the agent and distributor for honda. what do you think? :sian:

U need check too not all their HONDA is from boon siew.

My Honda 125 bought at Mah is parallel import.And Boon siew had the same Honda 125 model .But distributor price higher than mah.

so does that mean if i happen to buy a honda from MAH, not knowing that it is parallel import, means will not have boon siew warranty?

yes! just like what wildcard you can always check before you buy. Mah Pte Ltd is a reputable company in the m-cycle industry, don't think they will lie to you.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

so does that mean if i happen to buy a honda from MAH, not knowing that it is parallel import, means will not have boon siew warranty?

Boon Siew warranty is no big deal , nowadays the big players like mah pte ltd or loois motor is capable of giving you that warranty too.

anyway, i miss wildcard.