Dear all,

I had an accident recently at Jurong area with a malaysian bike and a singapore car. i was moving in the middle of 1st & 2nd lane,a malaysian bike whole front wheel appeared in front of me (obviously trying to cut my lane). Though i was moving at less than 40km/hr as it was red light in front, i didn't managed to stop in time. Tried to "siam" him. in the end my left handlebar hit onto dun know which part of his bike and i fell about 5 metres in front.

While falling down, i scratched and damaged the signal light of a car on my right and i fell on my left. my hand was ran over by a car on my left when the traffic light turn green. Traffic police and ambulance was summoned to the scene and i was taken to hospital.

Current Status

My bike - TP HQ awaiting to be released on Monday to be towed by NTUC to

IDAC for reporting and assessment.

The car - Has filed claims against my insurance and we are both under NTUC.

Driver also feels the malaysia bike at fault but have to claim my

insurance and ask me to claim under his insurance.

The malaysian Bike - only done police report as requested by the TP

My damages

1) Bike - Mirror,bar ends, foot peg, box & crash bar ( all minor damages due to the fact that there's a crash bar )

2) Accessories - Watch strap spoil & Taichi Raincoat got lobang

3) Injury - MC 5 days , arm and wrist swollen

Questions

1) Any recommendations of bike shops that does 3rd party claims against malaysia bike insurance?

2) How do i claim for the following?

a) loss of use (bike)

b) Medical Expenses ( i have NTUC personal accident policy just in case

medical claim doesn't get thru)

c) Assessories claims ( watch repair & RRP$180 Taichi raincoat)

d) Other possible claims (pls recommend)

3) Since the accident is not mainly my fault but car owner already submitted a claim against me. Therefore my 20% NCD will be forfeitted. NTUC say if it's really not my fault and NTUC manage to claim the damages of the car from the bike insurance, they will reinstate my NCD. How true is this and how high are the chances? Cos how can NTUC claim against malaysia bike without the owners knowledge?

I've told them that my bike is still in TP HQ and have not report to IDAC. So they have put the current status "awaiting TP release". So they haven't get a formal report of my side of story

I'm cureently living at west area, asked Hua Chin @ midview building already but they say they have to consult their lawyers before reverting. 2 days already no news from them.

Kindly advice on the above 3 qns and do provide additional advice on qns which i haven't thought of. Thanks in advance, forumers. cheers.

Dec 2003 - July 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200

July 2010 - July 2012

Honda Super Four Revo

July 2012 - Current

Honda NC700S ABS

• Replies 3

Hey all,

What happen if a person kena accident with a malaysian vehicle (be it car or bike)? If it happens in Singapore, do you settle in private and get cash from them or what?

For small incidents with minor damage and no injuries, yes, a private settlement could be possible.

For anything with injury, I wouldn't advise settling in cash on the spot because you can't tell the extent of the injury.

The difficult way is to get advice from a Malaysian lawyer and claim from his Malaysian insurer.

He who hesitates is lost!

Quite troublesome like that.

RIDDEN

1) HONDA NSR 125RR FM365H (full ownership)

5th Sept 2006 - current

2) YAMAHA RXZ 135 FR2289E (full ownership)

1st Sept 2008 - 20th March 2009

3) PIAGGIO X9 180 FU6124E (full ownership)

11th May 2010 - current