Car vs Bike, which harder to learn/pass? Anyone can give unbiased opinion...best is people with both license.

Car = class 3.

Bike = sport, street bike 2B.

Car

----------------------------------

Put requirements/conditions here

Bike

----------------------------------

1. Must learn to balance

2. Cannot swing after corner = wobble

3. No gear indicator

4. Can skid when braking hard

Add more....

• Replies 50

Car, u need to learn using Mirrors, Half Clutch Control, braking also (dun let ur passenger get car sick), control of steering wheel, Turning, Parking, Look out for Bikes, when to change gear to get best FC, when jam ready to get ur left leg tired (once u zai liao very easy) for manual car. Depend on your luck on passing.

Bike, look out for drivers(esp TAXI), Braking, Control at low speed, Mirrors + Blind Spot, learn how to siam safely. Pillion a very heavy pillion, without keep braking until he/she dun wan to see your bike. Harder to pass.

Dec 2005 >>> Honda NSP SP FTXXXXX

May 2008 >>> Honda S4 Version S FPXXXXX

Nov 2013 >>> Suzuki GSR 750 FBHXXXXX

http://speedtest.net/result/1305357059.png

CAR TEST DIFFICULTY: do not make the tester FEEL unsafe with u driving.

BIKE TEST DIFFICULTY: Do not LOOK unsafe to the tester.

so which seems easier? bike? well why dont u take both and figure it out?

imho, bike test is a killer... coz balancing really not ez for a 1st timer.... as for car.. just remember all the safety **** n u're fine.. (if u can travel zig zag in a car, i think u'll probably die riding a bike...)

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

For car your hand and feet coordination must be good, thats is if you are taking manual. Have to take note when doing vertical or parallel parking, the instructors will teach you the correct technique. Or you can go for the easier one, Class3A :shades:

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

bike harder.. bike need to learn how to balance.. i took my class 3 before class 2b..

I too felt the car was more tougher..

All the blind spots and checking.. the coordination of hands and legs have to be good.. somehow I am abit blur while in a car.. just the other day after finding my car parked abit slanted, i went back in to straighten it up.

Sekali I twist and turn but the damn car wouldn't budge..then my fren said 'EH, you haven on the engine..'

Damned!! Here I go again, I thought..

http://64.19.142.12/www.forkparty.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/What-to-Do-with-Lighter-Parts-6.jpeghttp://64.19.142.12/www.forkparty.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/What-to-Do-with-Lighter-Parts-7.jpeg

i got my class3 b4 class2b. i feel cl2b is harder to learn than cl3 but when it comes to tp, both are equally stressed.

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
most girls rather take a car license than bike license. isn't that obvious enough?

I don't think that's correct reasoning. I think the main reasons why most girls take car licences instead of bike licences is the common perception of bikes being more dangerous and/or hooligan-ish, the inability to dress in a ladylike manner i.e dresses and heels when riding, the lack of storage space, the higher physical requirements of riding (how many girls you know are willing to push or lift bikes?) and of course the problem of rain.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

car test more then 3 times then pass.

when i pass that day the tester was looking thru his letters n bills while i was on test

maybe he can read wat was written on it, then i pass

bike all 1 time pass, my hobby to cycle seems to help alot

For me, bike easier as I seemed to unite with it better... for car, i have difficulty going to where I wanted to go, and can't seem to make myself comfortable.. I guess each to his/her own?

Then again, I only took Class 3 mid way.. So perhaps I'm in no position to comment much? But I feel like it'll be more stressful coz tester is just next to you, as compared to bike...

-blast3dGal-

2B since 07/07/08

Aprilia RS125'05 (FBC9258A) 21/08/08 - 31/07/10

Piaggio ______ (FB______) 31/07/10 - ???

i still think that class3 is much much easier to pass.

for my 2b i checked blind spot all over already i still get improper checking and failure to check blind spot. I think its a test of your luck + your skills. I was revoked before so had some skills there, and i still got 18points lol thats as good as almost fail.

For my class3, i forget to check blind spot, jam brake upon amber lights and i signal too early and I got only 2points and know what? the tester said well done.

So thats my experience to share. So somehow I felt that newbie car drivers are a little dangerous.

What do you say?

I don't think that's correct reasoning. I think the main reasons why most girls take car licences instead of bike licences is the common perception of bikes being more dangerous and/or hooligan-ish, the inability to dress in a ladylike manner i.e dresses and heels when riding, the lack of storage space, the higher physical requirements of riding (how many girls you know are willing to push or lift bikes?) and of course the problem of rain.

is it that hard to dress properly for riding?

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg

class 3 passing rate less than 50%

class 2B passing rate 70%

I took 6 months and about 25 lessons for class 3, 4 months and 15 lessons for 2B (both passed on first attempt). I would say that class 3 was harder, not to mention much more expensive. Parking in particular was difficult. I would say 2B was much easier than class 3. Bikes are nimble and respond intuitively. To a beginner it is not much of a stretch from riding a bicycle. In a car it takes longer to grasp things like how many rounds of the wheel to turn and when to turn.

However, we must keep in mind class 2A and 2, so overall class 2 is harder to get than class 3.

is it that hard to dress properly for riding?

Yes for ladies. You wanna try wearing a skirt? If job require then they cannot get bike to work lor. Mabbe Skipper or vespar can lor. :) If the lady wear a skirt and on a sports bike you think the road user can concerntrate??? :D:D:D

Personally i feel bike is more difficult as balancing is one major reason. But if you are a bicycle rider then shouldnt be a problem. But i find that bike will give you a better understanding and respect you need to knw when you are on road.

You learn to be more attentive and learn to respect bike and yourself more. Cos you knw that you are vulnerable. Once you get a bike licence ride mabbe 1 year then go get a cls3. I think for me it helps me a great deal when trying to get cls 3. Cos you have necessary knowledge of where to look out when you are on bike already so your on road experience is on upper hand than other drivers who knw nuts abt bike. :)

Bernard

I have both Class 2 and 3. Looking back, I can't imagine the number of times I took TP tests :faint:

I find Class 3 harder to learn and pass. Why? In a car, you feel buttoned up and like operating a big box smashing down the guiding poles. During the learning stages, it feels unwieldy. Not part of your body.

For bike, it is very small. You have all round 360 vision. You can steer it with instinct. And suprise, surprise, it is easier to stall a car (manual gear) than a bike.

Getting the license is actually just a very short process within the long career of commuting a car/bike.

It is much harder to survive on the road on a bike than a car. It takes much more skill, self-responsibility, discipline, patience and willingness to learn.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

I tink bike is harder and a longer process to learn and pass. Basically u need to be more alert etc......and not forgeting all the 1 years we need to upgrade...2B,2A,2.....cars dun need all tis crap..pass u can drive any models...as for test..always remember...for car tester is beside u....but motorcycle...they are everywhere!!!!tis is not a biase remarks cos i have all classes except class 4 and 5........but of cos everyone had their own point of view......1 more point to add...the number of time we take to pass the test doesnt conclude if the vehicle is harder to learn but it reflect on our safety measure ....

Past rides:-

Cagiva Mito, Hexagon 150, KTM 125EXC,

Shadow 400, Ducati Monster 400, CBR 400RL,

Yamaha R1, Honda Goldwing1500

Present ride:-

Honda Deauville NT700

:gun: :bouncefire:

maybe a poll should have been added to this thread for us to vote..

anyway the theory of girls taking class 3 instead of class 2b/2a/2 is not an accurate gauge.. dressing will be a problem for them..

weather hot or raining is a nono for many girls.. what the heck even i dun like it if its raining or hot and stuffy weather.. and the time they spend to style their hair.. makeup for the face (face gets a little dirty.. even for ff helmet.. tried and tested, maybe my helmet lousy.)

the dangers of riding a motorcycle and parents objecting to it. guys can have 10 cents 50 cents on their legs, pple would deem its normal.. it isnt too nice for a girl to have too many of that.

ok drifting off here. back to topic.

have a nice day!

I got both class3 and 2 licence. I take 3 times to pass car while 1 time to pass bike.

I feel car is more tougher to learn. u are inside a box hard to see wat is going on outside while b ike, u manage to see outside surrounding very clearly. Most important tat tester is right beside u only to mark ur mistake, si bei stressed, unlike b ike testers all over the circuit. Actually both are equally stressed bu t car will be more stressed , this is wat i feel personally. both vertical and parrallel also hard cos u cannot s ee about to hit the pole anot, figure 8 and crank also scare cos u cannot judge properly will mount kerb a not. But trust me once u drive for 1 yr and become lao jiao all this obstacles are peanut to us and driving a car is more relax than a bike. got aircon, fm 933 or even ur techno CD blast loudly inside ur car. dont scare rain also. when desperatlely want to find a place to kiss ur gal also can do inside . =p.

ike also not bad. dont scare jam, find parking lot also easy than cars.

CONCLUSION: Both car and bike i also liked. but car is a bit more difficult to learn.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg

Car IMO, has too many blind spots. Whereas on a bike if you get used to it, it becomes part of you and you feel so "free" on it :thumb:

I'd say it's about the same. But, once you get one of them, the other would be a lot easier. I took my car first, got 18 points during my test (barely pass). When I took my bike, I was comfortable with road conditions, blind spots, etc.. and I got 2 points during the test. The only worry for both is the circuit courses. But once you clear them, it shouldn't be too bad if you drive/ride carefully.

bike probably easier to learn because of the 2b, 2a and 2.

if it will to be a universal one, we will be probably tested using 400ccs. in that case, im pretty sure a plenty of the people will be doing accidental pops, stoppie and horse riding during their courses

interesting topic .. but it's all depend on individual .. so there is no exact ans to tis .. n if u learn bike den u go for class 3 u will find is easier cau the concept is the same jus that u use ur leg to accelerate and etc .. n the same if u hav a class 3 after u learn riding, u will find bike easier .. n of couz tis all also comes from ur background eg. some of u like to cycle n etc ..