I wonder y this happens. Imagine u juz passed n hence, u r a p-plate driver, ur family doesnt own a car, and u cant really afford it as yet. So, the solutions are borrow or rent. Socially, friends n relatives will get skeptical in letting u drive their car becoz u r new. Hence, they will always refrain from lending u. Car Rental agents, worse, "P-plate holders not allowed to rent", as most of them says.

I know that these new drivers had worked extremely hard for their freaking small text that read, "Class 3 Motor Cars = ), to be written on the back of their photocard licence. Some take so many repeated test juz to get it done. And when they found out, they couldnt rent a car or borrow from someone.

I am not saying all friends n relatives are stingy (believe me, some even buy cars for the new drivers), but some really are. Those new drivers with family cars are excluded from this issue ok.

So the final solutions will be:

1) Save enough money to finance for a car

2) Wait for you 1-year probation period to end.

As you can see, both these 2 solutions linked. To save enough money, u need time. By the time it comes, your 1-year period ends.

So after 1-year without any driving experience, do you think most of them will have that full skill and confidence they've built so well more than a year ago?

I DONT THINK SO.most will get rusty and tend to get nervous on the road.

This might be a factor leading to high accident rates in SG.

I strongly feel new-drivers should be given the chance to expose themselves.

By giving us a pass in the driving test, it shows Traffic Police has given them the trust to drive on the road, why cant the public trust them too?

I welcome ur ideas. Be it harsh or gentle, lets discuss this issue. Thank you.

http://sg.geocities.com/wannavaro6m9g/bikes3.jpg

Come, as you are, as you were, as I want.... you to be....

• Replies 93

wat u said is quite true , but some of my fren just pass , all get new car . good life ah.

as the chinese saying... "same people, but different life".

but waiting till the probation period to end like abit no use? i passed my class 3 for almost 5 years already and in the begining, kept getting rejected from my close relatives or my elder bro whenever i wanna borrow the car. even my mum dont wanna help me put in some good words. so, i only got to drive for like once a year. i think now, none of them seems to remember the fact that i was a qualified driver.

on the other hand, my younger cousin, who just passed not long ago, got to drive his dad car around freely. and after like 3-4 months of him passing, his folks got him a car.

life is unfair!

肥仔七åƒå·

Hey, life is such. Not everyone can get to drive in sg coz it damn bloody ex. Anyway, I got my license way back and cudnt drive either. But due to my work, I get to drive a pickup around on an island with a speed limit of 30km/h. I took almost every opportunity to drive and keep myself still having a go with 4 wheels.

One year passed by and I didnt just stopped at driving on the island. I rented all sorts of vehicles; from small cars, big cars, vans, trucks, small lorries, MPVs etc etc and just drove to be exposed to all sort of traffic situations, conditions and dealing with crazy motorist on sg roads.

When I had the dough, i bought my 1st car and it was just sheer joy having my own car. It wasnt all that a new one so I faced with all sorts of nitty-gritty problems but I pulled thru. As for now, I ride bike and drives sometimes, not a car of my own but I do rent a lot. I have no problems whatsoever in driving different vehicles and I do enjoy having different vehicle each time.

So dun despair; every dog has its day. I know coz I did. Cheers......

http://i704.photobucket.com/albums/ww45/blackpiper/YNWA2.jpg

First of all, i guess it have something to do with our Singapore driving test and teaching methods.

Many feels it's not comprehensive enough and the test is too easy to pass.

Yes, you passed the test but it simply means you are licensed to drive.

But are you really competent on the road?

One good example, how many people who just passed can park without poles?

My first car, lent it to my cousin. He scratched it in Far East Plaza when going up/down the spiral. That carpark is pretty wide, wait til he tried OUB centre's carpark. :D

Second car, my younger sister scratched it when moving out from my house carpark slot. :(

Trust me when you have your own spanking new car, you will take very good care of it. Any scratches or dents will be very "heart pain". So you can't really blame the relatives for being skeptical or "stingy/selfish".

BTW i have seen many car rentals online which allows P-plate to rent. It isn't as strict as last time. :)

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

First of all, i guess it have something to do with our Singapore driving test and teaching methods.

My first car, lent it to my cousin. He scratched it in Far East Plaza when going up/down the spiral. That carpark is pretty wide, wait til he tried OUB centre's carpark. :D

Second car, my younger sister scratched it when moving out from my house carpark slot. :(

Trust me when you have your own spanking new car, you will take very good care of it. Any scratches or dents will be very "heart pain". So you can't really blame the relatives for being skeptical or "stingy/selfish".

BTW i have seen many car rentals online which allows P-plate to rent. It isn't as strict as last time. :)

Haha... :lol: couldn't agree more with the red wordings.

Well, if our cars are dirt cheap w/out road tax and coe, chances of loaning one would be higher :rolleyes: When I just passed, a friend didn't hesistate in loaning me his Integra. But the fact is, I was very scared to damage his car while driving so I took caution. How many would not let their own ego climb over their head and drive cautiously with others' vehicle?

i think ts if u bought a brand new car with yr hard earn money

u also will be cautious to whom u lend.

i believe u dun mind lending to someone u know very long with licence

and have the means to pay for it if any damages due to that person fault

I had this experience myself before. Ok, the reason why is because:

1.) P-Platers has less driving experience in road, their judgement might not be as good compare to some other drivers.

2.) Some insurance premium DOES NOT INSURED P-PLATERS!!!

3.) Driver owner scare of their precious car. Firstly you cannot afford a car already, do you think you can afford the damage that you cause to the vehical?

And that is also why some car rental company charge higher prices for P-Plater customer.. Aiya wait for a year, take out ya P-Plate, save so much hassle..

http://coastline.chu.jp/Resources/zxr400.jpg

Be cool, Be smart... Be your Yourself!

Regardless the bike model/brand. No matter how good/fast the bike is. Without skills the bike is nothing.

Money is'nt everything, but without money, you're just nothing!

dun mind i ask this, if in the first place you know u can't afford a vehicle or ur job requires you to drive. why u bother to take ur class 3?

If you're buying a vehicle, u wun be worrying much abt the downpayment but whether your loan will be approve anot. If your family really needs a car, you can try buying a 60k and below vehicle and see whether ur loan is approved anot. Also you will need to calculate ur annual roadtax, insurance as it's a big difference when comes to cars.

Buying car is always losing money, just that u lose more or u lose lesser

dun mind i ask this, if in the first place you know u can't afford a vehicle or ur job requires you to drive. why u bother to take ur class 3?

I think is a matter of take 1st, see how later...

http://i704.photobucket.com/albums/ww45/blackpiper/YNWA2.jpg

yeah take and get rid of the 12 point and being p plate first

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/amandaxp/topburanko.gifhttp://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/amandaxp/02982fc9.gif .

easy to pass? i dont think so, the testers are so strict on learners. some of them cant even pass after taking the test so many times. i know of a distant realative who took driving since i was five, now i'm 21, he still can't pass! i think they give strict guidelines. means if you pass, u are being TRUSTed by the goverment to drive on the road. whether the trust is to be broken or kept, its all up to you.

Well, if our cars are dirt cheap w/out road tax and coe, chances of loaning one would be higher :rolleyes: When I just passed, a friend didn't hesistate in loaning me his Integra. But the fact is, I was very scared to damage his car while driving so I took caution. How many would not let their own ego climb over their head and drive cautiously with others' vehicle?

that's why, the other solution is to rent.

I had this experience myself before. Ok, the reason why is because:

1.) P-Platers has less driving experience in road, their judgement might not be as good compare to some other drivers.

2.) Some insurance premium DOES NOT INSURED P-PLATERS!!!

3.) Driver owner scare of their precious car. Firstly you cannot afford a car already, do you think you can afford the damage that you cause to the vehical?

And that is also why some car rental company charge higher prices for P-Plater customer.. Aiya wait for a year, take out ya P-Plate, save so much hassle..

exactly, ur thinking of waiting, after one year no driving, u think those drivers can drive well?

If you're buying a vehicle, u wun be worrying much abt the downpayment but whether your loan will be approve anot. If your family really needs a car, you can try buying a 60k and below vehicle and see whether ur loan is approved anot. Also you will need to calculate ur annual roadtax, insurance as it's a big difference when comes to cars.

Buying car is always losing money, just that u lose more or u lose lesser

hi there, one day, i feel everyone of us dreams of having to own a car. my point is, u juz got a licence, even if ur relatives are reluctant to lend you a car, a new driver would say, "Aiya, juz rent lor, why bother begging for ur car?" In the end, car-rental co also dont want to lend you. :cry:

and yes, i know there are some online car-rentals that caters p-platers too. i'm happy they are kind enough. but still, that makes only like less than 10% of the car-rental agent in sg rite?

u go to a bike shop, 9 salesman bad attitude, only one super nice, still tarnishes the image of the whole company, ryt?

http://sg.geocities.com/wannavaro6m9g/bikes3.jpg

Come, as you are, as you were, as I want.... you to be....

yeah take and get rid of the 12 point and being p plate first

I think this is the only reason why we should get the licence first.

easy to pass? i dont think so, the testers are so strict on learners. some of them cant even pass after taking the test so many times. i know of a distant realative who took driving since i was five, now i'm 21, he still can't pass! i think they give strict guidelines. means if you pass, u are being TRUSTed by the goverment to drive on the road. whether the trust is to be broken or kept, its all up to you.

exactly, ur thinking of waiting, after one year no driving, u think those drivers can drive well?

hi there, one day, i feel everyone of us dreams of having to own a car. my point is, u juz got a licence, even if ur relatives are reluctant to lend you a car, a new driver would say, "Aiya, juz rent lor, why bother begging for ur car?" In the end, car-rental co also dont want to lend you. :cry:

and yes, i know there are some online car-rentals that caters p-platers too. i'm happy they are kind enough. but still, that makes only like less than 10% of the car-rental agent in sg rite?

u go to a bike shop, 9 salesman bad attitude, only one super nice, still tarnishes the image of the whole company, ryt?

The car rental companies are running a business. And it does not make economical or operational sense to check on the background of the customer who comes and rent a car. Therefore an imperfect to the best boundary line is drawn and that is to differenciate competency with probational driver or non probational. Sensible risk reduction which does not affect their business adversely.

As car owners, the liability is always there. Just like a bank loan. They can afford to take a calculated risk as they are reaping back interests which benefits the overall system. However, you are unable to return them with interests which will justify them the reason to lend you their car. A car rental company on the other hand depends on the cars as their assets. If their vehicle were to be lost totally, they will have a certain liability to fulfill. Thats why they need to take precaution to draw that line.

I think you are being too perssimistic. I got my licence before SARS. But I didn't get to own my first car until 2007. I do not have any problems driving one. Never had an accident nor damage to both my cars. (sold my first car for the second)

You were claiming that you expect to be able to drive one in order to become experienced which is an indirect manner of expressing your incompetency behind the steering wheel. And this contradicts with your statement of those who get their licence are trusted to hold the steering wheel. How can trust and incompetency be linking together?

Being a new class 3 owner, I guess you are now excited that you have been certified legally to drive a car on the road. However being a probational driver, you licence holds the flaw of incompetency compared to seasoned drivers. Due to this, you are discriminated to drive one at this moment in time. All these althought true, you cannot deny the fact that you are eagerly enthusiastically itching to drive one despite your inexperienced conditioned & incompetency. So all the more, you do not deserve to loan a car.

What I suggest is that you should go buy one. And do not go around telling everybody it's so difficult to own a car. All those who own cars now started off without owning one and now they own it. Should it be a form an inspiration for you to own one in the future too? Bear with it. It took me close to 4 years to own my first car since getting my class3. I know others who took even longer and they waited patiently for it.

I seriously think its easy to pass, maybe with my 2b/a road riding experience? Private candidate theory tests all 1x pass, and TP 1x pass. I wonder who said its harder to pass for private candidates also :sian:

God knows why those who've failed once don't realise their mistakes and try to correct them. Instead, they just keep paying and trying their luck instead of doing it the proper way. Ends up there are those who take uncountable attempts at the tests. Same goes for 2b.

Till now I don't know I'm lucky or I've corrected myself to drive up to standard to pass or not. Because I only entered the circuit to practice for the first time the 11th hour before TP early morning at 7.20am when tp is 1 hour away.

If you were to rent, you'll still need to pay for damages if you've occured any. :cheeky:

Dude, rental companies have to protect their interests. If you are a p plater and wants to drive, they won't mind. But due to lack of experience, there is a higher chance of damage being done to the car. They won't ask you for deposit of 2k(for damages) because nobody would take that up. I myself wanted to rent a car back then, in the end tried driving a few cars, vans, lorries; at least I'm driving something :D . You gotta think further for what others is doing :thumb:

No offence meant and take it easy on the roads.

Smiles,

jB

easy to pass? i dont think so, the testers are so strict on learners. some of them cant even pass after taking the test so many times. i know of a distant realative who took driving since i was five, now i'm 21, he still can't pass!

Go ask around, you will find many people who passed on their 1st or 2nd attempt.

See how some drivers drive on the road, you wonder how they got their license?

To be frank, i really feel our teaching methods is not comprehensive and the test is TOO easy. :angel:

As long you drive as per normal and don't commit any major errors, i don't see how the tester can fail you.

My younger sister got her Class 3 even before she hit 19.

Well, maybe you want to say she is a good driver, but why did she still scratch the car when moving out of the car lot?

And that was not the first time she is driving my car.

Btw you haven't answered my question, how many people who just passed can park without poles?

Why would you want ALL the car rentals companies to cater to P-platers?

In fact, most of the bulk of rental customers DO NOT come from P-platers.

They come from sales personnel, people waiting for their own car to be repaired, FT who are staying short-term here etc.

Most of them rent like 3 months, half a year or even longer.

From a business point of view, will you rent to new drivers who are less experienced and more likely to get into accident or damage the cars?

There are still more than sufficient companies which rent to new drivers.

Anyway, it is only a year that you are out of probation.

What's the rush?

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

I just pass my class 3 today :D

To say the fact, I really suck at driving... I can't even park the car well with the poles.. not to mention without poles..

And i don't dare to go over 50km/hr on the road with a car..

Well.. so anyone got any P-plate welcoming car rental co. to introduce to me?

That's why I always believe in LUCK! :cheeky:

I just pass my class 3 today :D

To say the fact, I really suck at driving... I can't even park the car well with the poles.. not to mention without poles..

And i don't dare to go over 50km/hr on the road with a car..

Well.. so anyone got any P-plate welcoming car rental co. to introduce to me?

u will be better off riding ur bike then. dont road hog with the car. :cheeky:

肥仔七åƒå·

P-plater newbies out there, I would kindly remind u if u renting a car, try not to rent car with low body kit although they look nice, if u hit, u gonna pay... I also a P-plater. have this experience but lucky hit my bro car... even bad, Nag every day... In the end, body kit break here n there (BUT ME HIT SIDE ONLY) he tu lan change back all stock... Like an Flying Banana.............

Once A Rider, Always A Bikers