Dear Bikers

I have a very bad experience which I want to share with the biking community.

I went down to Regina for new helmets with my partner in the afternoon. We decided on a model and asked for size m and xs. Was served by a young, dark skinny malaysian. After taking about 10 mins, he came back with the helmets. I checked, both size m. He took the helmet and disappeared behind the store. Then 5 mins later, he produced a size xs (says so on the visor). You say funny or not, the helmet suppose to take from outside, suddenly got helmet appear from behind then he go outside take for what? But I stupid stupid see the xs, just take.

When I was at home, I took out the removable sponge, the label says size m! Now is evevening time. I go down and look for the guy. Size xs become m. He never say sorry, say he go take and disappear for 10 mins. Then he come back with size xs. Never mind, I immediately open the sponge part, no label with the size.

By now, feel something very fishy. So I check the display sets, open up the sponge part one is l and one is m. So I ask him bring out another size s to show me. He disappear behind and come out wif a size s. I open up the sponge part, guess what? The label is cut out! BUT...I can make out is M!

Then short fair guy with spectacles ask me what's the problem? So I told him the story. He say this brand is manufacturer, he don't know what size, just follow the visor sticker. By according to another tanned short staff there, this brand is produced by Ah Boy.

So I start comparing the helmet size, s,m and l. The spectacle guy say the shell is the same size!! And he say like nothing wring. Which means their helmet only one standard size right?! Means they only adjust the sponge thickness.

Anyway I say never mind, you just give me size xs. You guys should know what happen next, the guy say no stock.

My conclusion is very simple.

1. When I went in the afternoon, there was already no xs or s in the colour I want. They deliberately switch the visor sticker and try to bluff me.

2. The helmet is all one standard size. All the different sizes are FAKE (at least for this model), they just change the sponge thickness. For the REAL proper sizing, the circumference of the helmet is different.

3. From their sheepish expressions, my view is that they do this switching of sizes All THE TIME. Spectacle guy didn't even scold the skinny guy. Obviously, this is what they do.

Eventually, spectacle guy say sorry and refund my money. Well, that's the least he should do for deliberately trying to cheat me.

Guys, whether or not you want to believe is up to you. I got nothing to gain. The next time you buy helmet, just compare the size of the shell. Girl and guy how to wear same shell??. And please, double and triple check they give you the correct sponge size.

As for me, no doubt Regina was out to fool me and I would never shop there or at Ah Boy again.

• Replies 219

Dear administrator,

I have resolved my dispute with the shop.

I don't make any defamatory statement. Bikers can go down and check out if indeed the helmet shell size is the same. By the way, the helmet I bought is under $200. But even if I was paying $40, helmet size and sponge adjustment is two completely different thing. And this is a matter of safety and buying properly. How can a shop pass off sponge adjustments as different sizes?

As for the branded stuff, I don't know.

Yeah, this is correct. The shells may be the same, its the sponge inside different. It also depends on the model of the helmet.

Like last time, i cannot remember, the shell for M and L is the same size, but for XL, the shell is bigger. I recall seeing this on some manufacturer's website.

Thanks for sharing TS!!

===============

ZX-150" OCT '07 - FEB '09

SPEC III" FEB '09 - APR '11

GSXR-750" APR '11 - DEC '11

FZ6S2" JAN 12 - JULY '12

FZ1N" JULY 12 - MAR '15

MONSTER 796" MAR '15 - ???

===============

Bro, Ah Boy and Regina are both like Sim Lim square.

You get stuff for real cheap, but use your due diligence regarding the quality.

These shops are definitely not for newbie bikers.

Its for people who know their stuff.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Helmet are like That.

Budget helmets, Sometimes only got 2 (or maybe even 1 shell size) They only "make" the range of sizes via sponge thickness.

Premium helmets have 3 or even up to 5 shell sizes or more. Follow by same amount of spong/helment padding/lining or whatever u call that Eg. arai and shoei. For these range, when u buy them, U can even customised to ur liking.

eg. to get medium size. U can get the biggest shell and the thickest sponge. or smallest shell, thiness sponge.

That's what I say years ago when I bought things from there. When its your turn to order, he will he ask you quickly and then just dismiss you like a nobody. Then you stand there wondering if he heard you for like minutes and then the goods come. if lucky its right if not wrong. The worse is before he flicks his head or finger to acknowledge your turn, you will be standing there like a fool.

His system must be correct then as he is a millionaire now and I am still a poor rider. Hahahhahah

Thanks guys, be careful if you need to go there. I went to research after this thing happen and found this old thread. So it's true he has been doing this stunt all along.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/76550-My-bad-experience-with-LAB?

I don't want to get into all those arguments as in the thread, just wanna do my part and warn other bikers.

revhappy,

Thanks for your warning. Can I just say that I was not out to look for cheap per say. And I'm not so sure he offers very cheap price for his goods.

But I was there, and the price was ok, so I took it. The other thing I wanna add is he also sell high-end stuff. What make me double irritated was I was at ah boy, then he tell me to go regina cause down there sell the 'branded' goods wor, and the helmet I like is so-called 'high-end'. So I was actually prepared to splash out some cash, maybe about $350 per helmet but so happen I saw this one ok.

I check with other dealers and they are really more upfront when it comes to sizes. First, it's all from import China and the smallest size is s. You tell me how this lim ah boy got xs? A real joke.

They also tell me upfront that the helmet size is the same. And tell me for girl get smaller type design better. But this part is just good service, I can accept if it's just bad service from ah boy if he don't know how to recommend. But he went far beyond that.

So guys, unless you got $600 for arai or shoei, if you wanna get something for your gfs/ partners, go with a design with a small and narrow shape. The smallest size s won't fit on a girl so the only way to make up for it is with the design. just sharing own experience, not trying to be expert.

Wait, wait, wait. Are you a girl?

Cool story bro.

Will take note of the that tactic.

http://i968.photobucket.com/albums/ae167/m0hs3n_2009/pulsar200ns.jpg

"The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool."

Why didn't your partner try out the helmet since she is there?

You register here just to share your experience?

Dear Bikers

I have a very bad experience which I want to share with the biking community.

I went down to Regina for new helmets with my partner in the afternoon. We decided on a model and asked for size m and xs. Was served by a young, dark skinny malaysian. After taking about 10 mins, he came back with the helmets. I checked, both size m. He took the helmet and disappeared behind the store. Then 5 mins later, he produced a size xs (says so on the visor). You say funny or not, the helmet suppose to take from outside, suddenly got helmet appear from behind then he go outside take for what? But I stupid stupid see the xs, just take.

When I was at home, I took out the removable sponge, the label says size m! Now is evevening time. I go down and look for the guy. Size xs become m. He never say sorry, say he go take and disappear for 10 mins. Then he come back with size xs. Never mind, I immediately open the sponge part, no label with the size.

By now, feel something very fishy. So I check the display sets, open up the sponge part one is l and one is m. So I ask him bring out another size s to show me. He disappear behind and come out wif a size s. I open up the sponge part, guess what? The label is cut out! BUT...I can make out is M!

Then short fair guy with spectacles ask me what's the problem? So I told him the story. He say this brand is manufacturer, he don't know what size, just follow the visor sticker. By according to another tanned short staff there, this brand is produced by Ah Boy.

So I start comparing the helmet size, s,m and l. The spectacle guy say the shell is the same size!! And he say like nothing wring. Which means their helmet only one standard size right?! Means they only adjust the sponge thickness.

Anyway I say never mind, you just give me size xs. You guys should know what happen next, the guy say no stock.

1. When I went in the afternoon, there was already no xs or s in the colour I want. They deliberately switch the visor sticker and try to bluff me.

2. The helmet is all one standard size. All the different sizes are FAKE (at least for this model), they just change the sponge thickness. For the REAL proper sizing, the circumference of the helmet is different.

3. From their sheepish expressions, my view is that they do this switching of sizes All THE TIME. Spectacle guy didn't even scold the skinny guy. Obviously, this is what they do.

Eventually, spectacle guy say sorry and refund my money. Well, that's the least he should do for deliberately trying to cheat me.

Guys, whether or not you want to believe is up to you. I got nothing to gain. The next time you buy helmet, just compare the size of the shell. Girl and guy how to wear same shell??. And please, double and triple check they give you the correct sponge size.

As for me, no doubt Regina was out to fool me and I would never shop there or at Ah Boy again.

Bikes

Men ride it. Boys dream about it.

Either way, a lie was given and taken.

The only thing you can do is to be more cautious next time, watch out for the lies and tear them apart when you see them the next time. Happens everywhere, my friend. Be vigilant, it's your money and your money still till you part with it.

Once, this happened to me too, when I wanted a Mfizz helmet. A lesson learnt. So now, when I go back to check out jackets, helmets, riding gears at Regina, I'll give it a throughout check and would tell the guy to rectify it before I'm gonna pay for anything.

Recently bought a Zeus ZS 3000-A from Regina and was pretty happy with it.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

always check like you are buying a diamond from there and make sure you always bargain

crazydj,

no!

Hi three,

Yes we did try the s helmet. We asked for an xs because s was still too big. But he came back with 2 m. So I asked him to change one of it to xs like I requested. He came back with the xs size (says so on the visor). Indeed I should have been more cautious but I think the point here is that he tried to cheat me and shouldn't give me whatever he has in the backroom just because I choose to have some faith in people. In this instance of course my faith was misplaced. I also do not believe I'm gullible because I cannot remember an incident in my life where I asked for a certain size, the guy cuts off the label and tries to sell it to me or deliberately gives me the wrong size. What can I say? I prefer not to treat people like crooks and by and large they are honest.

Frankly, I don't think my misplaced faith is of public interest. I stupid, I suffer. There is nothing much to discuss. It is the dirty tactics of these two shops that is of public interest to prevent other people from being cheated. I don't really get your question about me joining to post something because that's what ppl do, right? They join forums to post something?

mootchambers and dafunsu,

Thanks. It will be a long long time before I go there and if someone can tell me where to get helmet caps, I won't ever need to go there again!

dear bikers

i have a very bad experience which i want to share with the biking community.

I went down to regina for new helmets with my partner in the afternoon. We decided on a model and asked for size m and xs. Was served by a young, dark skinny malaysian. After taking about 10 mins, he came back with the helmets. I checked, both size m. He took the helmet and disappeared behind the store. Then 5 mins later, he produced a size xs (says so on the visor). You say funny or not, the helmet suppose to take from outside, suddenly got helmet appear from behind then he go outside take for what? But i stupid stupid see the xs, just take.

When i was at home, i took out the removable sponge, the label says size m! Now is evevening time. I go down and look for the guy. Size xs become m. He never say sorry, say he go take and disappear for 10 mins. Then he come back with size xs. Never mind, i immediately open the sponge part, no label with the size.

By now, feel something very fishy. So i check the display sets, open up the sponge part one is l and one is m. So i ask him bring out another size s to show me. He disappear behind and come out wif a size s. I open up the sponge part, guess what? The label is cut out! But...i can make out is m!

Then short fair guy with spectacles ask me what's the problem? So i told him the story. He say this brand is manufacturer, he don't know what size, just follow the visor sticker. By according to another tanned short staff there, this brand is produced by ah boy.

So i start comparing the helmet size, s,m and l. The spectacle guy say the shell is the same size!! And he say like nothing wring. Which means their helmet only one standard size right?! Means they only adjust the sponge thickness.

Anyway i say never mind, you just give me size xs. You guys should know what happen next, the guy say no stock.

1. When i went in the afternoon, there was already no xs or s in the colour i want. They deliberately switch the visor sticker and try to bluff me.

2. The helmet is all one standard size. All the different sizes are fake (at least for this model), they just change the sponge thickness. For the real proper sizing, the circumference of the helmet is different.

3. From their sheepish expressions, my view is that they do this switching of sizes all the time. Spectacle guy didn't even scold the skinny guy. Obviously, this is what they do.

As for me, no doubt regina was out to fool me and i would never shop there or at ah boy again.

noted............

yes!! they loves newbie . Their favorite phrase "no stock, wait 2 weeks" and they can keep on saying it with a stupid grin ...

they are no longer cheap lah add up petrol and travelling time must as well pay a little more and get it somewhere else.

yes!! they loves newbie . Their favorite phrase "no stock, wait 2 weeks" and they can keep on saying it with a stupid grin ...

they are no longer cheap lah add up petrol and travelling time must as well pay a little more and get it somewhere else.

Yeah.. they are no longer cheap..

Helmet of the same design used to go for 40ish.. now it cost 50 or sometime if you are "lucky", $60ish...

Moreover it is their brand.. :|

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

Wow! I can confirm

Their favorite phrase haha. I wanted to buy a helmet black color , aft confirming the price 230. As usual waited like a fool for 20mins. Then guy came back with the helmet, While taking out the helmet from the packaging the guy still can say tadaaaaa like got surprise! But I'm really surprised cos it's grey as I wanted the black one. Then he keep ask me take the grey one but I die die also don't want. Then I leave my contact down to order , waited

2wks after 2 weeks for 2 mths .. And I was the one that keep calling the shop to enquire abt the helmet availability. finally one day I called and they told me the stock arrived .. I then ask how much.. So this time was quoted 280 instead of 230. so their pattern come out Liao lor.. no business ethic ..

i already long time stop buying there lo...

if u close to them, then mostly they will treat u good..

if u r a newbie or dunno them at all well well then mostly they will treat u even better.. try lots of ways to make u buy lol