Not sure if this is the correct section to ask but,

Really want to know, when advertise and sell bike, will you let the ppl who come to view test ride it?

Especially for the more expensive bikes 15k n up.

What if accident occurs during test ride? I'm sure the person testing is not going to pay you a cent

and he definitely will not be buying the bike.

Then again, a lot of buyers will not want to buy a machine without testing.

Whats the usual practice here in sg?

Kindly share. Thanks.

• Replies 27

Either dont test ride or take deposit first before test ride...

===============

ZX-150" OCT '07 - FEB '09

SPEC III" FEB '09 - APR '11

GSXR-750" APR '11 - DEC '11

FZ6S2" JAN 12 - JULY '12

FZ1N" JULY 12 - MAR '15

MONSTER 796" MAR '15 - ???

===============

Good to see the inputs coming in. How about from a buyer's perspective? Anyone will refuse to buy a bike they like just because a test ride isn't given?

Please kindly be reminded one is not allowed to test ride anywhere, be it carpark or road outside the bike shops, etc... unless you have the insurance covered to ride that bike. Anything else, it is considered as illegal and deemed as riding without insurance coverage.

You may then ask, "Then how come the mechanics of bike-shops can then happy happy take our bikes for a ride to test the engine/bike or to see what is wrong is the engine/bike? How come we cannot happy happy ride others' bikes?"

What I understand is that the mechanics has a "comprehensive" insurance which the bike shops purchased for them, to "ride any bikes". I heard this type of insurance is not cheap.

Someone (esp those with the traffic police who are surfing SBikesF too), please correct me if I am wrong.

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

er i think is up to the seller mood to let the viewer to test?

if seller think its okay for 1 or 2 round,its up to him

at that point of time,i dont think they will think if its illegal or not..imo

pls dont flame me

er i think is up to the seller mood to let the viewer to test?

if seller think its okay for 1 or 2 round,its up to him

at that point of time,i dont think they will think if its illegal or not..imo

pls dont flame me

It is illegal no matter wat. Becoz no insurance. I believe e law states tat "illegal to operate a automobile without e appropriate insurance"

The bike shop let me test ride a 2B and 2A bike before I bought it. It's really up to your own discretion whether you want to let the person test ride it a few meters. As a buyer, I also want to know what my future purchase feels like but as a seller, it's up to me to decide if i want to let anyone test ride.

About the legalities, well the highway speed limit is 90 yet everyone goes over it.. As long as you don't get caught lah. Again, it's up to your own gut feeling. If you don't want to let them test ride i'm sure they will understand because you are the seller anyway.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

It is illegal no matter wat. Becoz no insurance. I believe e law states tat "illegal to operate a automobile without e appropriate insurance"

relax man.

i already said its up to the seller,if u dont,its okay

The bike shop let me test ride a 2B and 2A bike before I bought it. It's really up to your own discretion whether you want to let the person test ride it a few meters. As a buyer, I also want to know what my future purchase feels like but as a seller, it's up to me to decide if i want to let anyone test ride.

About the legalities, well the highway speed limit is 90 yet everyone goes over it.. As long as you don't get caught lah. Again, it's up to your own gut feeling. If you don't want to let them test ride i'm sure they will understand because you are the seller anyway.

yeah,dont get caught.

i think if the viewer get rejected,i think he understood as well

Depend on seller's discretion.. I personally let people test ride around the car park.

Met some clown before...One Ang Mo thought very steady....NB never ride big bikes wanna buy class 2 bike.

And one without cl2A test ride my super 4 and tells me he still waiting for license.

Most of the time if you arrive in CL2 bike and >27 years old, I am quite cool to let you test ride. If not either I pillion around my estate or just test the engine stationary...

Met one buyer before...Cannot test ride how I know the bike good a not? Errhhhh you go bike shop they also let you test?? I also love to test ride the new ZX10R...Clown...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Depend on seller's discretion.. I personally let people test ride around the car park.

Met some clown before...One Ang Mo thought very steady....NB never ride big bikes wanna buy class 2 bike.

And one without cl2A test ride my super 4 and tells me he still waiting for license.

Most of the time if you arrive in CL2 bike and >27 years old, I am quite cool to let you test ride. If not either I pillion around my estate or just test the engine stationary...

Met one buyer before...Cannot test ride how I know the bike good a not? Errhhhh you go bike shop they also let you test?? I also love to test ride the new ZX10R...Clown...

yeah lots of jokers and clowns out there. i have personally met a few of them when selling my bike as well. recently i just met 1 when i was selling my bike.

relax man.

i already said its up to the seller,if u dont,its okay

Just telling u tat as a buyer u may also lose ur license. It is not just about e seller. ._. dun wan u to ve e wrong impression tat only seller will kanna e arm of law

And no worries. I'm relax. :) u dunno me thus u wont noe if im angry or unrelax. ^^

yeah lots of jokers and clowns out there. i have personally met a few of them when selling my bike as well. recently i just met 1 when i was selling my bike.

How do you deal with clowns? Just make it clear you're not selling to them and end viewing? Since there's no point in entertaining them...

I think after reading, I won't let people test ride, not even 老K :)

er,if no testing of your bike,state clearly on your tread first?to avoid any ah Q,better right ? haha

but if seller let,at least the viewer should have the relevant lic first

i guess most buyer would wan to test the bike first as it would be a assurance to them that the bike is riding well. As a buyer and seller, i do hope also that i can test ride before buying, if can test ride i think the chances of selling would be higher.

As a buyer, so far, I've never test ride before buying. Legality issue. Both buyer & seller will lose license. Only thing I do is check bike for signs of scratches and rev the engine to hear if its still smooth.

No matter what, buy 2nd hand bike, expect to spend some money upfront to maintain / repair the bike to your liking. Its v. rare to get a 2nd hand well maintained bike.

As a buyer, so far, I've never test ride before buying. Legality issue. Both buyer & seller will lose license. Only thing I do is check bike for signs of scratches and rev the engine to hear if its still smooth.

No matter what, buy 2nd hand bike, expect to spend some money upfront to maintain / repair the bike to your liking. Its v. rare to get a 2nd hand well maintained bike.

I guess i am very lucky. Both 2a and cls2 2nd hand road worthy. 2a for 6 years no major faults except for usual tire, chain sprocket stuff.

Cls 2 only 2 mths so unable to comment for long term yet but e bike is way above road worthy. ^^ e been smiling while riding my cls2 since day 1.

I mean so far, all the bikes I've bot are "road worthy". but definitely have things that need to spend $$$ on. So my habit is buy the bike, ride it for ~1mth wo doing anything, then go for "1st" service and change the stuff i want to change. But yes, will be v. lucky if really minimal changes... also depend on the type of bike, tourers are usually more "road worthy" than say a small bike.

I didn't request for a test ride, I merely look at the bike exterior and hear the engine sound when I viewed my current DRZ. Bought the bike the next day and settled paperwork at LTA, then rode my bike to workshop do a proper check and did a full servicing. Already mentally prepared to spend some money on repairs since i was buying a used bike.

+1 for u. some ppl buy preowned bike expect it to be brand new :(