Originally posted by wait4me@Dec 27 2006, 12:03 PM

can i report u for being off topic?? :offtopic:

report loh..... yr 600 faster than mi...so i can't say anything...... :sweat:

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff190/aceboles/Girls%20and%20Bikes/pic31.jpg

Straight roads differentiate the rich and the poor

Corners differentiate the boys and the men

• Replies 146

ppls i need some help here, planning to get above either one of these bike after i get my cl 2 this coming aug. To big bike i am a new rider dun really know much spec and review abt them. I use to ride sp for around 1 yrs, well got into a number of accident before due to misjudge and carelessness. I down grade to x1 now feelling much better no tank blocking me and feelling ligher as well. I have been riding it for 2yrs this coming yrs well also got accident cause it's unperventable but still back to life. I love sport bike so planning to skip buying cl2a and go directly to cl2 but i have this major problem, i am a lady hight is around 1.63m, weight 45-50kg a very sporty person life to ride anot but parents and bf still object. I wonder so when i plan to get cl2 so i dunno which one to get from honda to yamaha so now i plan to settle down on my final bike but dunno which one to get. I am choosing between 1000cc and 600cc. All along i plan to get cbr600 but due to some fren advise telling that price is not much different so asking to get 1000cc bike and since 1000cc bike of cause dun mind getting R1. I have fren telling me that R1 fuel comp is higher compare to cbr1000 so i dunno which 1 is true. I dun go for track so mainly jus for long distance and maybe speeding in sg and mys only, i also wan to know compare cbr600 to 07 r6 which one is better also. I am also not very tall and not very build scare that cant handle the bike. Ppls pls give me a good advise, dun wish to buy a final bike but something not practical. I am sorry for my long winded story

Very understandable concerns you have :smile:

I have owned before a honda 1,000 cc sport bike and is now riding a 1,000 cc sport tourer.

First, you have to understand that the current crop of those sport bikes that you mentioned are all impractical. They are more hunched down, has more weight on your hands, your knees are more bent, the seats are harder, than compared to your SP. So riding on them for long distance is uncomfortable. None of us can never make full use of the power and capabilities of any of these bike. Maybe atmost 60-70% of their full potential.

I tell you all these so that you don't commit your money to purchase and then later immediately regret, as a sports bike depreciate pretty fast in their first year.

Supposing that you still want a sports bike since that is what you like, then the wisdom between chosing 1,000 and 600 cc is this:

- If you want to practise and make use of your riding skill and riding finesse on a track, then most people will go for 600cc. Reason the power from a 600cc is more useable and more manageable compared to the fierce power of 1,000.

- If you are not into track, then most people will go for 1,000 cc since they make more power and cost slightly more only.

The fuel consumption between 600 and 1,000 are not much. The fuel consumption between the various models are also not much. Do not be put off by the slight difference in fuel consumption amongst those bikes you mentioned as if you can afford to buy and ride them, then the price difference for fuel consumption is an insignificant factor in your overall cost.

As regard to the height, try hoping onto any of these on a show room. If you can tip toe with one or two legs, then it should be ok. Your light weight should not be a problem as cl2 sportsbikes are the lightest of all cl2 bikes. They weight slightly more than a Super4 only. Not much diff in weight bet 600 and 1,000cc.

Hope this helps

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

The BEST is to get the BIKE u like ....

dun listen to others.... If not u might regret in the end.....

FC varies and it not that much diff for 1K and if u intend to speed then i assume that u shld be more interested in it power ba... :smile:

The bike price diff for 600 and 1k is not that big but the insurance and rd tax will add up to a few hundred diff per yr unless u 31yr and older.....

(for ur info: 600 rd tax per yr is 200 while 1k is 360 if im not wrong)

http://img220.exs.cx/img220/7457/gforcesig1hc.jpg
Originally posted by Sn0w_MaN@March 06, 2007 09:23 pm

ppls i need some help here, planning to get above either one of these bike after i get my cl 2 this coming aug. To big bike i am a new rider dun really know much spec and review abt them. I use to ride sp for around 1 yrs, well got into a number of accident before due to misjudge and carelessness. I down grade to x1 now feelling much better no tank blocking me and feelling ligher as well. I have been riding it for 2yrs this coming yrs well also got accident cause it's unperventable but still back to life. I love sport bike so planning to skip buying cl2a and go directly to cl2 but i have this major problem, i am a lady hight is around 1.63m, weight 45-50kg a very sporty person life to ride anot but parents and bf still object. I wonder so when i plan to get cl2 so i dunno which one to get from honda to yamaha so now i plan to settle down on my final bike but dunno which one to get. I am choosing between 1000cc and 600cc. All along i plan to get cbr600 but due to some fren advise telling that price is not much different so asking to get 1000cc bike and since 1000cc bike of cause dun mind getting R1. I have fren telling me that R1 fuel comp is higher compare to cbr1000 so i dunno which 1 is true. I dun go for track so mainly jus for long distance and maybe speeding in sg and mys only, i also wan to know compare cbr600 to 07 r6 which one is better also. I am also not very tall and not very build scare that cant handle the bike. Ppls pls give me a good advise, dun wish to buy a final bike but something not practical. I am sorry for my long winded story

u should go for wat u like.. thats my advice.. for a girl i dont think u'll need a 1000cc as u might not even use half of the power at anytime at all.. not because u're a lady, but i myself who's a guy dont even use half the power of my 06 R6 90% of the time i'm on it, dont even talk abt 1000s.. u being 1.63m is not so much of a problem.. u're not that short.. but try not to get the 06 R6 because even me(1.73m) tiptoe on the bike. i heard the CBR600 and the GSXR600 is slightly lower. but not too sure how true.. my previous bike the 01 R1 and a fren's K6 gsxr1000 are definitely lower. its funny, but the 1000s are lower than the 600s.

but one word of caution, if u're gonna get a 1000, u may have more problems because of too much power to control, especially during the wet days, because its really easy to spin out ur tyres. already so easy to spin out on the 600s, wats more to say of the 1000s..

at the end of the day, buy only the bike u really want. where possible, test ride the bike 1st b4 buying.. the R1 and R6 really have an aggressive riding posture that for some ppl, its really tiring and painful. the CBR600 and 1000 has a reputation of a more comfortable ride. I've ridden the K6 1000, but i feel its a bit awkward. so its really up to u, the rider. dont go buying solely based on ppls' advice, that u might regret it only after u sign the papers.

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m58/abm_shafiq/IMG_6747.jpg

Originally posted by Ni+3KiDz@March 06, 2007 09:58 pm

The BEST is to get the BIKE u like ....

dun listen to others.... If not u might regret in the end.....

FC varies and it not that much diff for 1K and if u intend to speed then i assume that u shld be more interested in it power ba... :smile:

The bike price diff for 600 and 1k is not that big but the insurance and rd tax will add up to a few hundred diff per yr unless u 31yr and older.....

(for ur info: 600 rd tax per yr is 200 while 1k is 360 if im not wrong)

umm... 1000 is $320 per yr... however u're right abt the 600 rdtax.. i forgot to mention, insurance is slightly cheaper on the 600s.. a good few hundred dollars of which can be better spent to buy safety gear..

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m58/abm_shafiq/IMG_6747.jpg

thank bro for all ur good advise, well after reading so much i think most slightly getting 600cc cause i think in sg not wiseable to use 1000cc. Well i mean long distance like short trip to mys not up to places like thailand. Anyway i never any touring b4 so hehe... thought of trying out with my cl2 bike. Well money of cause is a problem to me cause i dun intend to sell of my x1, can use it for work wise. Anyway i dun think so any bike shop can let u try out any cl 2 bike b4 purchase rite, i will think abt it and hope more adivise from others. Can i also know wat is the min down payment the usual request

Like the other advice, I suspect you won't really use the power of the 1000 but hey it's also nice to have, I have a GSXR600 and it's enough for me, as an example

1st gear 130kmph

2nd gear 180kmph

0-100 in 3.6sec

0-160 in ?? abt 6 sec I think

240kmph very quickly... (after this I don't know...)

I'm 90+ kgs mmm twice your weight

is this enough?

from articles (I haven't ridden them before), I would stay away from the R6 as it's a rev monster and people complain about it being very "peaky", (this is also where a 1000 is great, more torque)

The CBR sounds excellent, especially the latest model

A bit about torque

this is where you need to have riden some big bikes before, personally I like low reving high torque, a larger capacity bike will rev much lower but have the "pull" you get from torque. I just can't explain this in words, you need to experience...

For me this is the arguement for getting a 1000, (after writing this I'm going to get a price for the K7 GSXR1000 :-) )

Here's a plug for the Suzuki's

Look at a GSXR600, they are about $1000 cheaper than the others. second hand they are cheaper still as initial depreciation is higher

Read about the GSXR1000 K7 it has a three position power switch one specifically designed for wet weather.

What about something in the middle GSXR750? constantly rated as the best bike

So you want me to be specific? buy a CBR600RR good street/track performance, easy to get parts etc, but boring, everyone's got one :-)

Do you want some advice? sorry you get it anyway, Don't fall off! you have fallen off a few times already think about your riding style, does this need to change with new found horsepower?

PS:- there's nothing finer that a lady on a sport bike! you rock!

It doesn't matter what the question is, the answer is more power!

very informative thread....i'm also in a dilemma choosing between 600 and 1000....current ride is RVF, upgrading anytime but very undecisive on which one to go....heard honda infamous for it's CDI....Gixxer alot of power in it....and yammi...aggressive riding posture....bad thing is that the R6 seat height very tall, 850 mm. Already came out with my analysis;

R1 = 835mm

Gixxer = 810 mm

CBR = 825 mm

Germany :cheeky: Germany

What ehem said makes perfect sense. Singapore is not like the USA or other big countries where there are lots of long winding roads for you to fully utilize the power of a 1000cc bike. 600cc regardless of what make and model, I feel is more than sufficient for daily commuting in Singapore, the occasional blasts along the NSH or track use in PG or Sepang. It is also cheaper when compared to a litre sportsbike. In my case, I prefer the 1000cc sportsbike cos I just love the feel of all that power in between my legs, even though I don't fully utilize it... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Sn0w_MaN@March 06, 2007 09:23 pm

pls do watch out for accidents

it cost much much more for repairs ...

if u no go track take 1000cc la,(i also dun go track but i riding 600)

but advising ppl take 1000cc

what a laugh :sian:

Originally posted by singkiwi@March 07, 2007 08:23 am

Like the other advice, I suspect you won't really use the power of the 1000 but hey it's also nice to have, I have a GSXR600 and it's enough for me, as an example

1st gear 130kmph

2nd gear 180kmph

0-100 in 3.6sec

0-160 in ?? abt 6 sec I think

240kmph very quickly... (after this I don't know...)

I'm 90+ kgs mmm twice your weight

is this enough?

from articles (I haven't ridden them before), I would stay away from the R6 as it's a rev monster and people complain about it being very "peaky", (this is also where a 1000 is great, more torque)

The CBR sounds excellent, especially the latest model

A bit about torque

this is where you need to have riden some big bikes before, personally I like low reving high torque, a larger capacity bike will rev much lower but have the "pull" you get from torque. I just can't explain this in words, you need to experience...

For me this is the arguement for getting a 1000, (after writing this I'm going to get a price for the K7 GSXR1000 :-) )

Here's a plug for the Suzuki's

Look at a GSXR600, they are about $1000 cheaper than the others. second hand they are cheaper still as initial depreciation is higher

Read about the GSXR1000 K7 it has a three position power switch one specifically designed for wet weather.

What about something in the middle GSXR750? constantly rated as the best bike

So you want me to be specific? buy a CBR600RR good street/track performance, easy to get parts etc, but boring, everyone's got one :-)

Do you want some advice? sorry you get it anyway, Don't fall off! you have fallen off a few times already think about your riding style, does this need to change with new found horsepower?

PS:- there's nothing finer that a lady on a sport bike! you rock!

hey singkiwi thank alot of ur advise well i guess everyone here have a point give lot of valuable and useful advise for me . I guess mostly everyone here have decide for me which model should i choose, i guess R6 is out cause lot of comment that it's too firece and 1000cc bike not really useful in sg. I guess i should be getting cbr600 i dun like suzuki bike cause it's much heavily compare to others. i hope more comment coming in so that i can decide on it. I also wish to know for those who bought there big bike how much min down payment usually needed and which bike shop have reasonable price and services.

ppls 1 thing that i dun understand why if dun go track advise get 1000cc if go track get 600cc leh. Does it make any diff

Originally posted by Sn0w_MaN@March 07, 2007 03:53 pm

ppls 1 thing that i dun understand why if dun go track advise get 1000cc if go track get 600cc leh. Does it make any diff

I think you might get the wrong meaning. even 125 also can go track. It all depend on wat you really want.

Some ppl will advise that is because if you go PG, a 1000 will be hard to control, as a 600 at PG will give you more fun. But when ppl go to sepang, they will say 600 not enough power on the straight. 1000 will be more fun at sepang than.

It all up to individual.

Some ppl take a 1000 go PG play, he still possible to play to the max, on the bike, some cant, Some ppl take a 600 to sepang still able to over take a 1000 during a corner.

It better to take a bike which you really like. and within your comfort budget.

Originally posted by fabian23@March 08, 2007 08:44 pm

guys can i get a 06/r6 if let say i nv put downpayment n i drag for 5yrs n monthly i can fork out $400,me 24 dis yr

Likely

Lets say OTR brand new R606 21k for you, interest @ 4% per annual

5 years : Interest @ 20% = $4.2k

$21k + $4.2k = ($25.2k / 60 mths) = about 420

2003-2004: Yamaha WR200

2004-2006: Honda XR400RY

2006-2006: Honda Super4 Spec3

2006-2010: Honda CBR600RR'06

2010-2011: Harley Davidson Sportster 883

2011-2012: Harley Davidson RoadKing

2013-2015: Honda X11

2015-????: Harley Davidson Rushmore Street Glide

Originally posted by singkiwi@March 08, 2007 09:26 pm

Well, you could always do this! urgh!!!!!

hehe... that cool but too pinky for me liao...

Originally posted by FactoryEffex@March 09, 2007 02:30 am

Likely

Lets say OTR brand new R606 21k for you, interest @ 4% per annual

5 years : Interest @ 20% = $4.2k

$21k + $4.2k = ($25.2k / 60 mths) = about 420

but most bikeshops want downpayment isnt it??

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

of cause they need down payment if not how they knoe u will pay the, up ????

So the big question now is.

What bike did jeremyteo get?

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/index_img/asia/buffalo_logo.gif

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/Images/2008-YZF-R6-static-07_prv_tcm26-207736.jpg

$420 for me iz still ok lah but must wait till aug dan can take cl2 so hav 2 continue ride my spec3 later pass liao dan sell back 2 my motor shop (EXCEL) n i think still hav 2 pay him $1000+ cash dan break even,SIANZ:weep:

FaBiAnLeE

Power Is Nothing Without Acceleration

Originally posted by Sn0w_MaN@March 10, 2007 02:56 pm

of cause they need down payment if not how they knoe u will pay the, up ????

the min down i heard for a new bike is 1.5k...

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

hi..looking for 2nd hand bike? ur in luck..coz im letting go of my cbr1000 repsol. refinance..u gimme $3k n carry on instalment.. just 1yr 3mth old..in excellent condition..with yoshimura gp-force undertail exhaust, bagster tank-bra and seats, venhill brakelines, dark n light headlight protectors, knn air-filters, sliders, all in...letting go coz going overseas to study...so come on down n view d bike..view no need pay ticket one..contact me at 83333379 now! -nicky