1. Exposed 2cm to 3cm of your red wire and black wire from your voltmeter

2. Connect the exposed black wire to your -ve battery.

3. Connect the exposed red wire to your bike's fuse.

- take out any of the fuse from your bike.

- tuck the exposed red wire into the hole of the fuse holder which u removed

- put back your fuse into the fuse holder to secure the exposed red wire being tucked inside

http://www.rollinsmachinery.ca/Pics/fuse.jpg

as shown, just remove one of the fuse, tuck red wire in, put back fuse to secure the wire. tats all :smile:

• Replies 71

Originally posted by paiseh@March 21, 2007 04:16 pm

1. Exposed 2cm to 3cm of your red wire and black wire from your voltmeter

2. Connect the exposed black wire to your -ve battery.

3. Connect the exposed red wire to your bike's fuse.

- take out any of the fuse from your bike.

- tuck the exposed red wire into the hole of the fuse holder which u removed

- put back your fuse into the fuse holder to secure the exposed red wire being tucked inside

http://www.rollinsmachinery.ca/Pics/fuse.jpg

as shown, just remove one of the fuse, tuck red wire in, put back fuse to secure the wire. tats all :smile:

Wouldn't it be easier and more convenient to connect the voltmeter black wire to the frame, instead back to the battery negative lead ?

This way of connection means the voltmeter is running permanently. Some may prefer the voltmeter to be operational only after ignition is ON, but before cranking engine.

Originally posted by Demon@March 21, 2007 08:21 pm

Wouldn't it be easier and more convenient to connect the voltmeter black wire to the frame, instead back to the battery negative lead ?

This way of connection means the voltmeter is running permanently. Some may prefer the voltmeter to be operational only after ignition is ON, but before cranking engine.

u didnt read -ve ar? where got electric at fuse area when u didnt on the ignition?

Originally posted by Demon@March 21, 2007 08:21 pm

nope. only when the ignition is on, den the voltmeter will turn on since its connected to the fuse.

as for the ground, i put it as batt -ve easier to understand. of coz u can ground it anywhere :) i had mine grounded at my front mud guard screw. n it works!

The voltmeter needle swing from left and right when riding at high speed.

Is there a way to stable the needle.

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

that is due to presence of noise. or it could be due to the vibration of your bike.

u can try this:

ground the black wire of your voltmeter to the -ve battery.

But when connected to the fuse, the meter will read as long as the coil is running but wont tell you if ur rectifier is charging to your batt..So what if ur rect is gone but coil still working??

A discussion i had with my friend on how to connect a voltmeter a few month ago.. :smile:

Originally posted by J.C@March 22, 2007 10:01 am

The voltmeter needle swing from left and right when riding at high speed.

Is there a way to stable the needle.

it could be vibration dude. i faced that same situation before. mounted elsewhere n the swinging effect die off. :smile:

Originally posted by MC28@March 22, 2007 08:11 pm

But when connected to the fuse, the meter will read as long as the coil is running but wont tell you if ur rectifier is charging to your batt..So what if ur rect is gone but coil still working??

A discussion i had with my friend on how to connect a voltmeter a few month ago.. :smile:

u r right. when voltmeter is showing 14v or above in such connection, it only tells you that your alternator is working. it doesnt tell u if battery is being charged.

but, if u off engine immediately, and the voltage is between 12.5V to 13V, it means your battery has been charged earlier on. :smile:

:thumb: great job paiseh :smile: after read ur guidance still confused :sweat:

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

Who can help me install? LoL... Need some help here...

Originally posted by Gallantine@April 07, 2007 11:52 pm

Can anyone recommend me any voltmeter (needle type)?

Thanks in advance.

LAB ones...autogauge..i got mine at $35 with the holder (plus bargaining of cos)

Nice pictorial there.

I'm curious to know though...since one of your voltmeter's wires are connected to the fuse (and thus, to metres of wiring) will the accuracy of the voltmeter reading drop? And will the drop be very significant?

yes. probably 0.001V +- of difference. that term used to describe this is voltage drop.

but not significant. i have used a multimeter to do a check against a digital voltmeter which can read up to the tenth place. no difference.

u muz b excellent in wiring yo paiseh.. shuld i say pls b our guru for a day :sweat:

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

I Just DIY my voltmeter 2day. initally got problem fixing it after study try error and got it work. mine got total 5 wire need to connect.

These 3 wire to light up the meter only

3 wire: 1) Red connect to ignition connector

2) orange to any connect that supply 12v eg horn relay

3) Black - ground to -ve

2 wire for needle reading

+ to headlight

- to ground again

I fitted between 2 meteras usual. I choose this way to connect as i dont need to lay long wire to the back

Test ride start 10-12 v during ride went up 15V

3 Arai Helmet Meets Up :angel:

is there any other way to do it ? as i know some ppl tab the wires to the wires inside the headlight area .if we do it this way then we dun have to route the wire so far away . anyone tab the wires inside the headlight area? can pls give some advice how to do it

Originally posted by eddie23@May 15, 2007 07:08 am

is there any other way to do it ? as i know some ppl tab the wires to the wires inside the headlight area .if we do it this way then we dun have to route the wire so far away . anyone tab the wires inside the headlight area? can pls give some advice how to do it

quite easy.

1. expose 2cm - 3cm of your red wire from your voltmeter

2. slice open 2mm of your headlight +ve wire

see here

3. wrap the exposed voltmeter red wire around the sliced headlight +ve wire

4. expose 2cm - 3cm of your black wire from your voltmeter

5. connect to the battery -ve. if its too far, den connect to any screws u can find in front of your headlamp assemby to ground that wire. it should work.

just an old thread... worth bringing back somehow....

guys... is there any diff tapping the meter to headlights compared to tapping to the batt and fuse? cos i'm getting a 13V while riding with lights on...

http://i681.photobucket.com/albums/vv179/KickStart03/IMG_0297.jpg?t=1242980525

It's all about the 'K'

any bro mind helpin me to install ? cos i get from LAB must DIY de..treat u kopi + meal :p

can help...but must get the facts correct 1st... to headlights or fuse??

http://i681.photobucket.com/albums/vv179/KickStart03/IMG_0297.jpg?t=1242980525

It's all about the 'K'