Is there any way to remove super glue stain on helmet? I was using it to stick back one of the wire mesh that drop out, heard that thinner will burn the paint from the helmet is it true?

• Replies 35

Originally posted by yotsuga@April 30, 2007 10:25 pm

, heard that thinner will burn the paint from the helmet is it true?

Don't use any thinner unless u knew the characteristic of it, it will tarnish the gloss of the helmet when one it touches, due to the chemical reaction. Try to use normal oil that you can find, get the super glue gently out.

I "heard" it will remove shoe stains on exhaust pipes too :confused: useful but hope it works..gonna try tml since its a holiday :cheer:

not sure but just my 2cents worth (:

think you will have to test on one unwanted and a part of yr **** that is not so visible..lol i'm gonna test on my inner of my exhaust :cheeky:

Originally posted by yotsuga@April 30, 2007 11:31 pm

hmmm i think i will wait out for someone to answer me using wht oil first b4 trying using nail polisher.

You can try thin coat of cooking oil, singer oil or 4T, NOT petrol, diesel, kerosene and do clean up these stain of oils with soap water if succeed.

Nail polish is good to remove a lot of things especially plastics, also do we consider the paint job(lacquer) on the helmet to be dissolved by then? Can try and do update.

try furniture polish, i think its sold at most fairprice outlets at the section where the washing powders, dog food, air fresheners, floor cleaners are. brand name vanish, varnish or something. never tried it, heard it works though.

Sep'04 - Nov'05 (1yr, 2mths): NSR150SP (FR2577Z)

Nov'05 - Dec'06 (1yr, 1mths): GSX400R (FJ6410L)

Dec'06 - Sep'08 (1yr, 9mths): CBR929RR (FS3851U)

Sep'08 - Mar'12 (3yr, 5mths): TA200 (FV4581B)

Mar'12 - ???????????????????: GL200R (FBE5662G)

Originally posted by yotsuga@April 30, 2007 10:38 pm

i know it's been posted b4 but does anyone know wher to really get those stuff? kers??just superglue remover?

thanks a lot

I was over at the GIANT HYPER MART at Vivio (or Vivo) Centre (the one near harbour front)... I think I saw something like that at the super glue centre.

Then again.. I am not too sure if it is suitable for your application... it might spoil paint work etc :confused:

FatBiker

back...

:mad: who say acetone will help....it makes the superglue STAIN WORSE....now more visible..i do admit it that those parts without superglue STAIn is brighter but those with the STAINS got whiter/visible.....

LOL... so funny :smile: Took you ten minutes to try and come back screaming. Lol......

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

LOL... so funny Took you ten minutes to try and come back screaming. Lol......

Hmmm u sounded like i been trick to use acetone for it.....

chill dude..think you gotta stay on the safe side next time and test a drip or sth on an unwanted spot to prevent unforseen circumstances like this.. :goodluck:

Originally posted by yotsuga@May 02, 2007 08:56 am

Hmmm u sounded like i been trick to use acetone for it.....

No lah.. Strong eagle is a nice biker who contributes to safety discussions in SBF. Dun think he wanted to play a prank on you. Neither do i know if acetone can remove superglue or not. Bu i now i know cannot liao. I was about to try to remove some sticky stuff from my bike.. Hmm... maybe i should try kerosene...

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

waa dude you used so much? omg! hmm i'd take some time to consider which part to try first then after if it fails can use a sticker to cover lo for worse case scenario :cheeky: anyway good luck in your lab test :goodluck:

The address on my bottle of debonder :

Best Chemical Co(s) Pte Ltd

60, Senoko Raod, Singapore 758124

Tel : 67552400

The application :

For loosing cyanoacrylate adhesives/loctite/glue.

*Water base system for debonding cured cyanoacrylate adhesives

*Penetrates cured adhesive & render polymer non-adherent, flexible

*Will not craze most plastics.

Hope this helps

Originally posted by levin@May 06, 2007 07:27 pm

The address on my bottle of debonder :

The application :

For loosing cyanoacrylate adhesives/loctite/glue.

*Water base system for debonding cured cyanoacrylate adhesives

*Penetrates cured adhesive & render polymer non-adherent, flexible

*Will not craze most plastics.

Hope this helps

This is more like it... but it is for industrial use, hard to get outside?

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x26/virusx11/Avatar/LMCDArthVader.jpg

It doesn't matter how good your bike is, but how long you can ride it

Performance doesn't lie on the bike, it boost when the ego broke!!

It doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile...winning's winning..