Few months back, there's a thread on listening to mp3 player while riding. Saw that even got 1 rider who called up TP to clarify whenever it is road legal or not.

Now the question is, if I use bluetooth headset to listen to mp3s, will it be as harmless as listening through normal earphones?

Btw now I using iTech bluetooth headset, connect by a2dp profile.. so much better listening through normal earphone since it is cable-free.

• Replies 19

Like u've said, It's cable free, So that means TP/ROV cant see it mah, how to summon u.. lolxx

Its hidden in your helmet so cannot see...

But still better be careful lah

i know i know.. but i meant is bluetooth headset leh. in sg illegal to drive whilst on phone lah, so if kena road block, TP saw it, siao liao lah. not really sure if it is ok or not mah.

but even u listen without cable, the bluetooth and cable still can be seen leh....unless i go through the cable through my skin :dot:

its illegal to drive whilst on phone with it in your hand

What constitute handphone driving?

To ensure that only drivers who blatantly disregard the safety of other road users by using their mobile phone while driving, 3 clear conditions were stipulated. For the offence of handphone driving to stand, ALL the following 3 conditions must be fulfilled:

(a) the vehicle is in motion; and

(b) the driver is holding on to the handphone with one hand; and

© the driver is communicating with any person with that handphone.

[Para 2© includes making phone calls, paging for someone, receiving a call by pressing the keypad, reading, writing or sending of SMS.]

The purpose of setting the 3 conditions is to ensure that drivers who have no intention to commit handphone driving will not be caught by ambiguous rules. For example, a driver who simply holds a mobile phone but is not using it to communicate while driving will not have committed an offence of handphone driving. However if by doing so, the driver loses attention on the roads and fails to maintain proper control of his vehicle, he will still have committed an offence of driving without due care or reasonable consideration.

Similarly, the spirit of the law is such that the driver who uses his handphone is only a menace to other road users if his vehicle is moving. As such, drivers who use their handphone while the vehicle is stationary should not be caught by this rule.

In short, Traffic Police do not take action against motorists for handphone driving simply because there is a handphone on the passenger seat or beside the driver. Traffic Police will only take actions when our observations show that all the three conditions for the offence of handphone driving are concurrently present.

therefore i think bluetooth headset shld be safe.. nevertheless music on not so loud la haha ^^

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS

its illegal to drive whilst on phone with it in your hand

therefore i think bluetooth headset shld be safe.. nevertheless music on not so loud la haha ^^

thanks brother, for pasting the info here :)

Guest DaxThe3rd

omg... u mean listening to mp3 while riding is illegal??

No no no, i mean with bluetooth stereo headset lah.. because when u use bluetooth, first impression is talkin on the phone mah. but come to think of it, how to talk while riding with the wind blowing ..

lol actually if the full face type can la. but a bit ki siao lo... life on the line. anyways if rov see ah. actually listening to music is considered illegal.

Low Life Helmet Stealers shld just DIE

05-06 - FU*7*7A NSR SP (Proj Bee)

06-07 - FY*3*3L Wave S (Proj Bass)

07-07 - FN3**3M RVF 400 (Proj Black)

08-08 - FU**9*U KAWA ZX (Squeaky)

08-09 FBB***9D Pulsar DTS-i (Black)

10- FBC**98S SYM GTS

Guest DaxThe3rd
lol actually if the full face type can la. but a bit ki siao lo... life on the line. anyways if rov see ah. actually listening to music is considered illegal.

huh...! so stingy ar... lol mp3 nia ma... ride alone very sian de lei... lol

listening to mp3 means ur not fully concentrating on the road mah....so confirm illegal be it by bluetooth or wired device...but by bluetooth,chances being caught is lesser...somemore if they catch you,can just tell them it's for phone calls only...

2005-2006 - NSR150SP

2006-2010 - CB400 Ver. S

2010-Current - Suzuki GSR600

Guest DaxThe3rd

hmmm... ok.. than wat abt those tat put speakers on thier bike? on the music out loud... lol

ar...that's what i dun understand...maybe cos the sound not directly to the ear...just like sound systems in the car...

2005-2006 - NSR150SP

2006-2010 - CB400 Ver. S

2010-Current - Suzuki GSR600

ar...that's what i dun understand...maybe cos the sound not directly to the ear...just like sound systems in the car...

i knw y... because those who use earphones to listen music are selfish....lols.

but those who install sound system are not, letting people around them to listen to music ....lols.

sound reasoning huh :faint:

i dont think there is any rule in the RTA( road traffic act) that states.. driving/riding while listening to music is illegal..

• 5 years later...
i dont think there is any rule in the RTA( road traffic act) that states.. driving/riding while listening to music is illegal..

Sorry to bump an old thread, need to clarify. I can't seems to find a rules from the TP website that say this too.

Then why are people so kan choing about getting caught such that they need to get bluetooth to hide their ear piece then? I have my iphone (White and easy to spot) ear piece on every now and then.. nothing yet. I just make sure i dont blast my music and is still fully aware of the sound environment on the road.

but a moment ago some ****ing red car with an egoistic driver ard my age (18-20) just blast his horn at me for moving off my bike a second late while i had the white earpiece on, when we were doing a left turn.. i was so mad.. anyway after the left turn hes accelerator was in all the way till about 70 on a 50 road within a few seconds, so i lane hogged him by moving to his front and slow down to legal speed, doing this for around 10s by keeping to whatever lane he wants, and when we were at the next traffic junction, i will move off 5s late in front of his red car again when the green light appears, he was so mad and spamming me his horn at the 2nd traffic light junction..

I wonder if he was testing if I can still hear with the ear piece on.. Well I did respond by moving slower.

Edited by guangwei

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

Sorry to bump an old thread, need to clarify. I can't seems to find a rules from the TP website that say this too.

Then why are people so kan choing about getting caught such that they need to get bluetooth to hide their ear piece then? I have my iphone (White and easy to spot) ear piece on every now and then.. nothing yet. I just make sure i dont blast my music and is still fully aware of the sound environment on the road.

but a moment ago some ****ing red car with an egoistic driver ard my age (18-20) just blast his horn at me for moving off my bike a second late while i had the white earpiece on, when we were doing a left turn.. i was so mad.. anyway after the left turn hes accelerator was in all the way till about 70 on a 50 road within a few seconds, so i lane hogged him by moving to his front and slow down to legal speed, doing this for around 10s by keeping to whatever lane he wants, and when we were at the next traffic junction, i will move off 5s late in front of his red car again when the green light appears, he was so mad and spamming me his horn at the 2nd traffic light junction..

I wonder if he was testing if I can still hear with the ear piece on.. Well I did respond by moving slower.

and your point being ??

go home can sleep better ?

Why must we ask government is it legal or not? Do you ask government to eat to **** to pee? Damn stupid question.

Trying to be law abiding citizen or trying to be stupid? Can smoke while riding? Can listen to music while riding? Can use bluetooth while riding? Whats next? Can brush teeth while riding? Can have sex while riding? Can clap hands while riding? Stop asking stupid question when you know your government is straight edge everything illegal. We live in a fine country stop adding laws to ban things. Stop being stupid and stop being Singaporean for a second.

http://i451.photobucket.com/albums/qq235/kepalabutolah/SuzukiGSXR1000Banner.jpg